"Young Holt Unlimited - Plays Superfly- 1973 US": Bassist Eldee Young and drummer Isaac "Red" Holt attended the American Conversatory of Music in Chicago together, and played together in a dance orchestra called the Cleffs, where they met pianist Ramsey Lewis and formed a popular jazz trio in 1956.

Young and Holt lay down a monster set of grooves from Curtis Mayfield's Superfly soundtrack in 1973 (all the good ones -- like "Freddie's Dead", "Give Me Your Love", "Pusher Man", and "Superfly"), and they also get into some funky tracks of their own (like "Hey Pancho" and "Mystical Man") and do a super-dope cover of "People Make the World Go Round".

The album is nice and stripped down, with loads of cool electric piano by Ken Chaney, laid out over the group's harder funky grooves!

  • Track Listing
  • Reviews
1. Freddie's Dead 4:32
2. Give Me Your Love 3:15
3. Pusher Man 3:48
4. Superfly 3:20
5. Hey Pancho 4:00
6. Could It Be I'm Falling In Love 4:26
7. (They Long To Be) Close To You 3:50
8. People Make The World Go Round 6:00
9. Mystical Man 3:50