Van Dyke Parks - Song Cycle. 1968 (Pop Rock)

Van Dyke Parks - Song Cycle. 1968
RS Flac & MP3 @320
Incl. Full Artwork.

by Jason Ankeny
Van Dyke Parks moved on from the Beach Boys' abortive SMiLE sessions to record his own solo debut, Song Cycle, an audacious and occasionally brilliant attempt to mount a fully orchestrated, classically minded work within the context of contemporary pop. As indicated by its title, Song Cycle is a thematically coherent work, one which attempts to embrace the breadth of American popular music; bluegrass, ragtime, show tunes -- nothing escapes Parks' radar, and the sheer eclecticism and individualism of his work is remarkable. Opening with "Vine Street," authored by Randy Newman (another pop composer with serious classical aspirations), the album is both forward-thinking and backward-minded, a collision of bygone musical styles with the progressive sensibilities of the late '60s; while occasionally overambitious and at times insufferably coy, it's nevertheless a one-of-a-kind record, the product of true inspiration.


01. Vine Street
02. Palm Desert
03. Widow's Walk
04. Laurel Canyon Boulevard
05. All Golden
06. Van Dyke Parks
07. Public Domain
08. Donovan's Colours
09. Attic
10. By The People
11. Potpourri             http://persevalk.blogspot.com/2010/11/van-dyke-parks-song-cycle-1968-pop-rock.html#                                                                        ===>*****<===