John Mayall Bluesbreakers - w. Eric Clapton (UK Blues 1966)

Japanese frontcover

Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton is a 1966 electric blues album by John Mayall's Bluesbreakers featuring Eric Clapton as lead guitarist. It is often referred to as The Beano album because the photograph on the album cover shows Clapton reading The Beano, a well-known British children's comic.

Apart from being one of the most overall influential albums in blues-rock history, it was likely the first time anyone had heard a Gibson Les Paul guitar through an overdriven Marshall amplifier; this unique sound would become particularly influential. The re-introduction of the Les Paul by Gibson was largely fueled by the blues boom that so often featured it. Clapton's incendiary playing inspired graffiti saying "Clapton is God" on the streets of London around the time of the album's release.

The Bluesbreakers included John Mayall on harmonica and a majority of the vocals, John McVie on bass, Hughie Flint on drums, and John Almond, Alan Skidmore and Derek Healey, misspelt on the sleeve as Dennis Healey, as the horn section.

Much of the album was composed of blues standards by long-established blues artists such as Otis Rush, Freddie King and Robert Johnson, as well as a few originals penned by Mayall or Mayall and Clapton. The majority of the songs serve as showcases for the young Clapton's playing, apart from "Another Man" and "Ramblin' On My Mind." "Ramblin' On My Mind" was Clapton's very first recorded vocal performance. Although Clapton left the Bluesbreakers only a year after this album was made, it was still a huge step forward for his playing as far as improvisation and guitar tone, and it formed the bridge between his time with the Yardbirds and his later co-founding of the power trio Cream with fellow British blues-rock players Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker.

CD 1
01. All Your Love [Mono]
02. Hideaway [Mono]
03. Little Girl [Mono]
04. Another Man [Mono]
05. Double Crossing Time [Mono]
06. What'd I Say [Mono]
07. Key To Love [Mono]
08. Parchman Farm [Mono]
09. Have You Heard [Mono]
10. Ramblin' On My Mind [Mono]
11. Steppin' Out [Mono]
12. It Ain't Right [Mono]
13. All Your Love [Stereo]
14. Hideaway [Stereo]
15. Little Girl [Stereo]
16. Another Man [Stereo]
17. Double Crossing Time [Stereo]
18. What'd I Say [Stereo]
19. Key To Love [Stereo]
20. Parchman Farm [Stereo]
21. Have You Heard [Stereo]
22. Ramblin' On My Mind [Stereo]
23. Steppin' Out [Stereo]
24. It Ain't Right [Stereo]

CD 2
01. Crawling Up A Hill - BBC Saturday Club Session
02. Crocodile Walk - BBC Saturday Club Session
03. Bye Bye Bird - BBC Saturday Club Session
04. I'm Your Witchdoctor - single
05. Telephone Blues - single
06. Bernard Jenkins - single
07. Lonely Years - single
08. Cheatin' Woman - BBC Saturday Club Session
09. Nowhere To Turn - BBC Saturday Club Session
10. I'm Your Witchdoctor - BBC Saturday Club Session
11. On Top Of The World - New Stereo Mix
12. Key To Love - BBC Saturday Club Session
13. On Top Of The World - BBC Saturday Club Session
14. They Call It Stormy Monday - Live at The Flamingo Club
15. Intro - Maudie - Live
16. It Hurts To Be In Love - Live
17. Have You Ever Loved A Woman - Live
18. Bye Bye Bird - Live
19. Hoochie Coochie Man - Live