Hawkwind: Hall Of The Mountain Grill (1974)

Line-up / Musicians

- Dave Brock / vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, organ synthesizers - Del Dettmar / keyboards, kalimba - Simon House / violin, mellotron, backing vocals - Lemmy Kilminster / bass, vocals, lead & rhythm guitars (7) - Simon King / drums, percussion - Nik Turner / sax, oboe, flute, vocals

Músicas: 01. The Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear in Smoke) 02. Wind of Change 03. D-Rider 04. Web Weaver 05. You'd Better Believe It 06. Hall of the Mountain Grill 07. Lost Johnny 08. Goat Willow 09. Paradox 10. You'd Better Believe It (Single Version Edit)* 11. The Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear in Smoke) (Single Version)* 12. Paradox (Remix Single Edit)* 13. It's So Easy* * Bonus Tracks

"It's 1974, and Hawkwind have gone all melodic! Ironically, the best track here is probably the soft synthesiser instrumental, "Wind of change".

There's plenty of the classic Hawkwind sound on tracks such as "Psychedelic Warlords" and "You'd better believe it", but even then, they are tarted up nicely. "D-rider" features some classic phasing (whatever happened to phasing anyway?), while "Paradox" varies the pace to great effect during some acid pop rock(!).

This album signalled the introduction by the band of more ambient and melodic tracks, or parts of tracks than we were used to. By doing so, the band demonstrated that they were in fact extremely adaptable, and not the "Status Quo" of acid rock previous offerings may have implied.